GOD IS YOUR SHIELD I

God Is Your Shield I

“After these things the word of the LORD came unto Abram in a vision, saying, Fear not, Abram: I am thy shield, and thy exceeding great reward.” Genesis 15:1

There is a controlling desire of the enemy to garage and bench God’s people. In this scripture, Abraham had just encountered a serious battle and God helped him to defeat the enemy and the king of Sodom wanted Abraham to take all the goods for himself. Abraham said I won’t touch the goods; I don’t want you to take the credit due to God by saying you made me rich. He was inevitably saying ‘My eyes are fixed, my heart is made up and you cannot use things to entice me. I know my God will bless me as He has already told me and I don’t want man to take credit.’ He even paid tithe so that people after him would be blessed. Child of God, don’t you know paying tithe secures you and your children? Tithing shows you believe God for increase, protection and provision; and God always honours your faith. Imagine Abram turning his back on so much riches (spoils of war) but when he did, God said to him: I am your shield and your exceeding great reward. What more could he ask for?

Many times when you turn your back to what people think is your entitlement because you want to focus on God, men may not understand, but the good news is God sees every act of faith and trust in Him and He always rises to the occasion. God knows how to reward your efforts, commitment, your prayers, dedication and consecration more than you can imagine. God said to Abraham, don’t panic, I am thy shield. When he turned his back on the spoils and turned to God, God also made a commitment to him like no other. Do you know what it is to have God as your shield? It means that in the battle of life be assured that no weapon formed against you shall prosper, that no plague, no calamity would come near your dwelling. That in your pathway is life and no death, no oppression and no fear would come near you. The same thing God is saying to you today: Fear Not. God is your shield. He is your defense.

He says a thousand may fall on your side and ten thousand on your right side, even if a million comes against you. It would never come near you. God is your shield and protector in the midst of the challenges in the world today. He will protect you from all evil and deliver you in the midst of crisis. Darkness will not over shadow you; you will shine the brightest in the midst of the darkness. I see you shining, I see you radiating God’s light and God’s glory. You are a solution to your world in Jesus name.

Further reading: Numbers 23:19-24, Isaiah.60:1-4 Daily Bible Reading: Morning: Psalms 129-131; Evening 1 Corinthians 11:1-16

Posted from WordPress for Android

One thought on “GOD IS YOUR SHIELD I

Leave a Reply

