THE LORD IS MY SHEPHERD

THE LORD IS MY SHEPHERD Monday, 16 March 2015

“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.” Psalm 23:1 (KJV)

Our text today simply says that you will not lack anything because the Lord is your shepherds. Therefore, you shall not want for food. You shall not want for money. You shall not want for employment. You shall not want for a baby. You shall not want for a house. You shall want not for a wife.

When you read the Psalms with understanding, you will realise that a believer does not need to worry about anything because the shepherd provides all that is needed. The more often I read Psalm 23, the more I rest. No goat goes to the market to buy a shepherd. It is the shepherd who buys his goat. And the moment he buys it, he takes responsibility of it from then on. In this psalm, the Lord is saying to you: “I bought you. You belong to me. You cannot lack because I take responsibility for your well-being.”

Now consider these assignments of the shepherd over your life:

1. 1. The shepherd will make you lie down in green pastures (Psalm 23:2, KJV) 2. 2. The shepherd will lead you beside the still waters (Psalm 23:2, KJV). He knows where the water is troublesome. He won’t lead you there. 3. 3. The shepherd will restore your soul. He does not want you to have a troubled mind (Psalm 23:3, KJV). 4. 4. The shepherd leads you in the path of righteousness for his namesake (Psalm 23:3, KJV). He knows that you have the capacity to mess up. And because he does not want you to ruin His name, He leads you on the path of righteousness. 5. 5. Even when I go astray, the shepherd is still with me. He is always with me so “though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me” (Psalm 23:4, KJV). 6. 6. He prepares a table before me in the presence of my enemies. If he prepares a table, then he has taken care of the enemies. He has anointed my head with all. Therefore they shall watch me while I eat. 7. 7. He has also released two angels called “goodness” and “mercy” and they are commanded to take care of you all the days of your life.

Your part is to rest and enjoy His provisions. I command every struggle to end in your life today in Jesus name.

Further reading: Psalm 23 Daily Bible reading: Morning-Deuteronomy 28-29, Evening-Mark 14:54-72

Leave a Reply

